In honour of Vincent Schiavelli

Monday, Feb. 20, 2006 - 5:33 pm

There are a few amazing incidents to write about, but for now I shall dedicate this entire entry to one of my favourite (or at least the most likely to make me scream out his name in a loud girly voice) actors, Vincent Schiavelli.

I first came across him when he played the subway ghost in my favourite movie Ghost. This crazy scary character is the one who teaches Sam how to move things now that he is a ghost, does anybody remember him? The one who is a sort of a poltergeist, and who upturns the train by trying to get Sam out of 'his' train? The one who knocks over a ciggarette dispenser and then bends over and says "I'd give everything for a drag. Just one drag."?

From this movie onwards this man has become known to the household simply as "The Subway Ghost". Every time we see him on the tellie we shout
"It's the Subway Ghost!"
But unfortunately this wonderful actor is now dead. I only found out about it yesterday. I was half-watching a film whilst 'working' and there he is! "SUBWAY GHOOOSST!" I yelled, and promptly started checking him up on IMDB. And there, to my utter horror, I found the writing:
Date of death: 26th December 2005 (lung cancer)

(a BBC newslink)

Blinking Boxing day! I remember on boxing day watching all those Tsunami documentaries on the TV and thinking At least nothing bad happened this year. But it DID!

I am so upset about this. So I shall suggest a moment of silence in remembrance of a great character actor, Vincent Schiavelli.

Suoiverp - Txen


Older -- Present

Notes - Me - Rings - Extra - LJ - D-land

Hermetic

Best works for resolutions 1152x864 and 1024x768