Non-descript

Wednesday, Aug. 17, 2005 - 12:01 mn

I'm sorry for yet another quick late-night entry. I'll make it up to you, dear, I promise!

Tomorrow I'm going to Southampton with Wil. We're meeting at midday. I'm not sure what we're gonna do there, but whatever, I haven't seen him for a while.

Today I went with Dad to drop Benji off at Nan's. Afterwards we went on into Eastleigh to wander around the fayre. Is fayre spelt 'fayre' or 'fair'? I have a feeling it's interchangeable. Anyway we stopped outside a few slumbering rides to cruelly poke fun at their bad artwork. Then we stopped by a few charity shops to buy some more books for Dad's obsession - bookcrossing. I've given �3 to charity since Monday! I really don't usually spend that much in that sort of amount of time. I must have donated about �10 to various charities since 2 weeks ago! Well, as long as it's gone to a good cause, I suppose.

I really will tell y'all about the balls incident, I promise. But not tonight. Oh yes, and it turns out my sense of impending illness was nothing at all. It fizzled away, thank God. Oh! Hehe.. I just remembered about the grapes. Okay, you know how sour grapes are when they are very unripe? Well heat them until they make their "I'm gonna explode!" noise, then eat them. Carefully. They're almost as good as ripe!

That leads me neatly onto my conclusion. Right now I'm reading a most delightful book called The Cure for Death By Lightening by Gail something-Dargatz. It's about this girl living in Canada in the Second World War, and her mother's scrapbook. She lives on a farm, and the bit I just read told of how her mother was skilled in the art of preparing chicken.
First she would kill the chicken, then dunk it into hot water to loosen the feathers. Not boiling, because that would weaken the skin and the skin would tear when the feathers were pulled. Then she'd pull the feathers, and use hot paper to scald off the tiny feathers that are left. Then she'd let the chicken rest in the pantry before cooking it because otherwise it would end up "tough as an old laying hen".

Gruesome, but the way it was written as just lovely. And really interesting. I think I shall enjoy this book and learn from it greatly.

Kim, signing out xxx

12:16mn

Suoiverp - Txen


Older -- Present

Notes - Me - Rings - Extra - LJ - D-land

Hermetic

Best works for resolutions 1152x864 and 1024x768