Uncle Eddie

Monday, May. 31, 2004 - 10:15 pm

Good evening.

I had a really great day today. We went on a drive through beautiful countrysides with Nanny Cathy to visit her brother Edgar (Uncle Eddie). I have written a better description in Sophia:

This morning we picked Nanny Cathy up and went on a very long drive through the country (more countrified than Waltham Chase). The scenery was beautiful and there were many lovely villages. One particular village that I adored is Cheriton. Its neat thatched cottages with beautifully kept gardens entralled me. Little shallow streams running between the road and village hall, trickling under bridges, ducks and swans paddling in them. Sometimes children competing in some sort of sports event for a fair. And, of course, old style tea-rooms.

We were on our way to see Great Uncle Eddie (full name Edgar), Nan's last surviving brother (I think). When we arrived (with me still marvelling at the beauty) Uncle Eddie was tending to his flower bed in his front garden. He gave us a tour of his gardens. It was extremely impressive, huge and full of well-tended vegetables, herbs, flowers, fruits and other plants. Do you remember 'Jackapple Joe' from 'Blackberry Wine' by Joanne Harris? It reminded me of that.

I had stuck some Apple Mint, Sage and Rosemary in on the opposite page.

Uncle Eddie's very nice, and he's a strange mix of the very traditional and the very up-to-date. He had an expensive looking flat screen television squeezed into an old style room with dingy flaking wallpaper and 'old people's' chairs. His gardens were amazing, truly they were, I loved them. Oh, I have neglected to declare that as of last Winter, I had promised myself that I will make some elderflower lemonade (like I did last year), wine and jam. Did you know that one can make tea and.. raisin (I think it is) wine? Intruiging. I must try that.

I should go to sleep now so good night and sweet dreams.

Kim xxxxx

Suoiverp - Txen


Older -- Present

Notes - Me - Rings - Extra - LJ - D-land

Hermetic

Best works for resolutions 1152x864 and 1024x768