Ruiko Inoue

01/09/2003 - 12:27 pm

Yesterday Mum, Dad, Ben and I went to Hemel Hempstead to pick Nan up from Auntie Julie (strawberry jam) and Uncle Adrian (lemonade). When we arrived we had some tea and set off towards the Waffle House. I'd been there before but I was a little baby so I remembered nothing. There was a river running down one side, with ducks and fish. It looked really cool and inviting. I had mexican beef waffles for lunch, which was really nice but way overpriced. Because of this we didn't have dessert which was a shame because I was looking forward to having a sweet waffle for the first time in ages. It was not to be!

Afterwards we went to the Organ Museum. When Auntie J told me that we were going there I wasn't too enthusiastic. I like museums but, an organ museum?! Oh how very exciting. I think I'd have been more enthusiastic if it was the other kind of organ. Hehehe, lungs in formaldihide.. okay back to the point. We arrived and entred when it opened (we were early). When we payed we went into a large room filled with seats. At one end of the room was a man with thinning white hair playing the piano. Around the room was large mechanical organs, like the ones you used to get at fairgrounds and stuff. On one side was this absolutely HUGE organ with the words 'England's Pride' along the top and 'DECAP' and 'Antwerpen' underneath. It struck me as funny when I realised it was made in Belgium. After the man had finished playing, he went around behind a desk on the same side of the room as the Decap and introduced himself. Then an organ on the side opposite the piano started up. There was a great percussion thing which one could see playing by itself. After a few tunes another started up. The piano guy introduced each one as he went. There was this really thin guy, a visitor, who had something wrong mentally. He kept limping around making juddering movements, putting his finger to his lips as if to say "Im being quiet!" and sticking his thumb up whenever he lked something. Which was a lot. He seemed a nice man, he was very polite to Maman, and he kept following Jordan around. The Decap was played a few times and two normal organs at the front (piano side) were played, once by the piano guy and once by 'the guy with the happy leg'. We called him that because when he was playing his leg would bounce all over the place, obviously hitting the bass pedals, but it was funny to see. There was a tea break where we all had a cuppa and then the organs were played again. I took Grandad's place because whenever there was a song I knew I'd sing along. I only sang two, 'A spoonful of sugar' and 'It's a long way to Tipparary'. And I'd never be able to do Grandad's expressions when he'd sing. I miss him... anyway! After the show Dad introduced me to another one of the visitors. She came from Japan and I asked her if I could see if she understood me. So I said my name and she seemed amazed! She had a surprised expression on her face and said "Ah! You speak good Japanese". I told her I could write in katakana and showed her by writing my name (which she read correctly so I got it right!). She put me to the test by asking me to write her name, Ruiko, but I got it wrong. Nearly right, she said, her name's similar to what I wrote (Riko). She told me she's going to Cornwall to teach introductory Japanese. She was really friendly and seemed happy that I was learning her language. She gave me her adress and her email addy so I could contact her and we said goodbye. Maybe I should change my email adress? It's 'yasha', meaning demoness, which she might not like.. although I might use the 'Inu yasha' excuse. "It's inu yasha, only it's not". You know what I mean... you don't ehh, that's your problem. I'm really pleased I plucked up the courage to talk to her. When she asked me to write my name my hands were shaking so badly that I was surprised she could read it, coz I couldn't! I'm just not good with talking to new people, that's all..

This morning I played Pokemon Silver until half ten then got up and was bombarded with kids. "Kim come inside our tent, Kim!" "Kim, can you help us make a new tent?" "Kim come sit with us!" "Kim? Kim!" "Kim where lantern? Eliz'beth no got lantern..." "*laughs manically* It's in my pocket! Lantern in Jake's pocket, Kim!" They are really cute but overbearing sometimes.

Suoiverp - Txen


Older -- Present

Notes - Me - Rings - Extra - LJ - D-land

Hermetic

Best works for resolutions 1152x864 and 1024x768