Brain Damage

Wednesday, Jun. 30, 2004 - 10:43 pm

"For a great space he lay in that strange condition, inert and still neither dead nor living but, as it were, suspended, hanging midway between nothingness and existence. His was a darkness unbroken by a ray of thought or sensation, a dreamless inanition, a vast space of peace. The tumult of his mind had swelled and risen to an abrupt climax of silence. Where was the man? Where is any man when insensibility takes hold of him?" - When the Sleeper Wakes, H.G. Wells.

A thought I had wondered many times. Where does any man go when insensibility takes hold of him?

I had wondered that long before I read this. If somebody suffers brain damage to such an extent that they are clearly not the same person, what happened to the person who previously took control of the injured body? Where do they go? Do you think they go to the void, my void? Thinking about that I imagine lost minds drifting all in a void but isolated from the other, as if in bubble wrap or a really thick duvet.

I hate when I get like this. Philosophy is fine but I take it to the point where I get confused and I end up thinking my way to the Void or the Cliff again.

Bringing things back to reality, I went to the OneStop to give in my job application. Maggie told me that I probably won't know until September. Afterwards Ben and I went upstairs to Maggie's apartment and said hi to everyone. Their 'new' dog K---something is really scary. She jumps up on me and licks me and she's really big so she knocks me over. And she pees everywhere so I just don't know where to tread. I ended up having to shower twice to make myself feel clean. Ick, dogs. *shivers*

Tomorrow I'm being picked up by Sally to be brought to her house so I can have a sleepover with Alice. Then in the morning we're off to Barton Peveril intro. day! Apprehension? Just a little. It's only an intro. day.

Must sleep now, it's 11:02.

Night.

Suoiverp - Txen


Older -- Present

Notes - Me - Rings - Extra - LJ - D-land

Hermetic

Best works for resolutions 1152x864 and 1024x768