Brands Hatch

26/08/2003 - 10:29 am

I'm not too happy about 'belonging to Fight Club' eh.. it's only a quiz. I'm probably going to do some more later.

During the holidays Mum and I fell out. I did something which hurt her feelings and now she thinks that I hate her. I am trying to make up to her and it is working, just very slowly.

Sunday, we travelled a lot of the day, we passed through a lot of picturesque towns and villages, finally stopping in Whitstable. This town is a fishing village. There is a long street full of modern shops, but the buildings themselves are very intruiging. No two were the same, they were all twisted and ramshackle, very beautiful. Along the coast were all these sea-food stalls and restaurants. We eat in The Royal Oyster-stores or something like that. The food was overpriced and not really very good. Oh, before we eat there we went to have a drink in a pub where a man was playing old western cowboy music. It was very good. I am not a big fan of western country music, I am more of a rock type of person, but I really enjoyed that. After the meal we seeked out a sea-food stall and I tryed an oyster for the first time. I quite liked it. The aftertaste was the best bit. It was mildly salty and was strangely sweet. Well, after our little trip, we continued on our journey. We were heading to a Travel Lodge near Brands Hatch, Mum was reading out the directions. We got a little lost five minutes from our destination (I know this because we found out a little later in the day) and ended up in this amazing place called Bluewater. We drove around a huge building, which was extremely decorative. There were glass spikes and domes protruding from the ceiling, and the walls were sort of curved. The building was surrounded by tall chalk cliffs and a long lake. As we drove around the building I looked out of the window, taking everything in. There was a lot of water features and a path leading around. It seems to me that although it looked stunning despite the roads, it would have looked a whole lot better without them. After driving the entire circumference of Bluewater, we eventually found our way to the Travel Lodge. The room was small, clean and comfortable. Mum and Dad's bed was really soft, but mine was comfortable too. We had to have the same room and Ben and I got the sofa bed. I picked the bed near the window. Having explored our room and settled in, we left again to seek out the Bluewater shopping mall. It didn't take long because, as I have already said, it was a mere 5 minutes away. We booked cinema tickets to see Terminator 3. The mall (which was the building we saw when we drove around) was just as beautiful on the inside. There were a lot of sculptures and carvings. On the wall down the.. I think it was called the 'Thames' section or something.. there was lyrics to a song. I do not know what it is called but I know the tune and some of the words.

'KINGDOMS MAY COME, KINGDOMS MAY GO, WHATEVER THE END MAY BE. OLD FATHER THAMES KEEP ROLLING ON...' I don't know the rest.

When it was time for the movie we took our seats at the top of the cinema (the view was excellent, almost as good as Warner Villages). Terminator 3 was... okay. It wasn't bad. A lot of it was just revamped elements from the other two. The concept was brilliant though, I wonder if they will make another? I was struck by the similarities of the Terminator and The Matrix. World ruled by robots, struggle of humanity, one particular human who can save the rest. Do you see what I mean? After the film we had Nando's. I had never tried Nando's before but I liked it very much. I didn't eat much though, because I was still feeling rather sick (I was really really ill on Saturday and I threw up a lot. Not pleasant.) but I enjoyed it all the same. We went to bed around midnight.

I have just realised that I have accidentally added two entries that are the same. Note to self: delete one A.S.A.P!

We got up at about 6:00am and got dressed, setting off almost at once for Brands Hatch. We had VIP tickets which gave us access to the hospitality suites. The guy directing people to car parks directed us to one right outside a hospitality suite. It looked realy.. mediocre, I thought that I'd much rather go to the building across the track, the tall one with the tinted windows. We started walking and I soon found out that the very cool building was the exact one we were going to be staying in! The room we were in was large with huge round tables dotted here and there. We had breakfast there, which was bacon and sausages in a large bap. We were there almost all day, watching the races. The suite was great, I could help myself to a drink or anything without paying and the balcony at the top of the building was, although really high, great too. I could see the entire racing track from up there. Our team, Pure Amber (I think) was in two races. Both times we came 16th. That sounds bad, but it was really quite good. He was only a second or two slower than the guy who came first. We went down to see the car and the race-track. There were a few crashes but luckily no one got seriously injured, the crashes were really exiting to see. I really enjoyed Brands Hatch. We got back home around 7:00pm and had an Indian takeaway.

Then today. Mum's childminding a girl called Laura. She's 11 and is deaf. She can sign and lip-read but if you want to talk to her you have to say things clearly. I haven't met her yet though, I haven't even heard her voice. They're at the beach at the moment. I didn't want to come. There's nothing mush to do once you're down there.

Suoiverp - Txen


Older -- Present

Notes - Me - Rings - Extra - LJ - D-land

Hermetic

Best works for resolutions 1152x864 and 1024x768